November and its blessings

Yes Yes I know November is not here yet, but there are just too many things that are going to happen that I could not stop myself from writing the post. πŸ™‚

Nov 1 is when my in laws arrive to celebrate Karva chauth and Diwali with us. Being the first diwali after the marriage, I am kinda looking forward to a great time with family and friends. Also I get to put Mehndi for karva chauth as much as I want ❀ aka to my hearts desire. This sounded never more cool πŸ˜€ But there are a few glitches, I need to manager evening snack n tea and Dinner. Moreover go to the station too. The MIL and SIL helped me plan a simple-ish menu for the day πŸ™‚ So i hope I shall be able to manage it.

Nov 2 is Karva chauth. I need to make some sargi [food to be had before sun rise], take a shower, pray and get ready. Then I need to eat the sargi before sunrise and then live on no food and water for the entire day. With the erratic leave plan that I have, I dont have a leave to spare for 2nd. Hence I am working too wearing the taam jahaam [all the suhaag stuff aka choodis, mangal sutra, sindoor, toe rings n stuff]. I hope I can get to work early and leave early. But this shall also depend on the project I am assigned to. However post finishing work, I need to be home and cook a feast. There is puja that we perform where we read a story and sing a song while exchanging puja plates with other women. This is done 7 times. [More on this in a bit]. The we wait for the moon to show up [it is generally late-ish that day]. We then pray and get to drink water and eat something. Not to forget we get gifts too πŸ˜€

From then upto Nov 10th we clean the house to welcome Goddess Lakshmi.

Nov 11 is Dhanteras. It is the official beginning of Diwali. People but new utensils/gold and stiff and offer to the deity for blessings.

Nov 12 is Choti Diwali or Narka chaudas.

Nov 13 is Diwali. Lots of food, lights and prayers.

Nov 14 is Govardhan puja or Khenkra [Where we go to meet relatives and friends and exchange gifts]

Nov 15 is Bhai Dooj.Β  And this ends the 5 days of Diwali celebration πŸ™‚

Nov 21st is Mom’s 50thΒ  Birthday and our first Anniversary πŸ˜€

Nov 22 nd is Mom-Dad’s 29th Anniversary.

Phew…Hope I am not missing out on anything πŸ™‚

Between this I have blogging events to be a part of, events to host, round ups to be made. God Bless me.

Have a blessed November guys.

Love

 

One thought on “November and its blessings

Thank you for dropping by :)

