Mexican Rice

Soya has a love and hate relationship in the house. I love it and the pati detests it 😦

However once when I did give it to him for lunch as a curry, he didnt complain. So I took the liberty of making the Mexican rice from the Pressure cooking book from Nita Mehta. Page 80.

You shall need: [Feeds 3-4]

1 cup… Rice

2 tbsp… Ghee

1/4 tsp… Jeera

1″… Dalchini/cinnamon stick

1-2….Black Cardamom

1/4 cup… Soya Nuggets [I used mini ones. Soak them in Luke warm 1/4 cup water for 30 min]

3-4 tbsp… Tomato Puree

1 … Sliced onion

Salt to taste

1.5 cup… water

1/4 tsp… red chilly powder

green and orange food color optional

Method:

  • In the cooker, heat ghee. Add the dalchini, cardamom and jeera.
  • Add the onion and cook until light brown.
  • Now add the puree, salt, red chilly powder. Cook until the fat leaves the masala.
  • Now squeeze the nuggets off excess milk and add to the masala.
  • Stir until it is evenly coated.
  • Add the drained rice to the masala.
  • Now pour 1.5 cup water and bring it to the boil.
  • Put the cooker lid on and cook upto 3 whistles.
  • Let the steam settle. Serve warm.
  • I added 2 food colors to give some layer and color.

Check out the marathoners running this 22nd edition of blogging marathon here.

Cheers

Goes to:

brain child of Zesty South Indian Kitchen

Brain child of Valli.

13 thoughts on “Mexican Rice

  1. I’ve only started eating soy chunks in the last year – I have ambivalent feelings towards it – I like it, but if I start to eat it a lot, then I get put off. It is the one Item I don’t enjoy leftovers. After I eat it, I don’t want to see it again for at least a few weeks.

    • Hey Pallavi, same dilemma up here….i m the one who likes soya…it makes up for the meat that i dont get to eat in this vegetarian household…your rice looks fabulous and cooked to perfection

  2. The rice looks really nice. I am a fan of Nita Mehta cookbooks. I have stopped buying books only after I started blogging, now internet is my source for recipes 🙂

Thank you for dropping by :)

