Beyond the URL – Priya Elias

Has ever a blog name made you wonder “Oh I wish I would have had that blog name”? It did for me when I stumbled on Priya’s blog. She blogs here.

She started cooking as the new bride and it slowly picked up and became a passion. She mentions in her about page that she her food is heavily influenced by the place she comes from.

When she is not proof reading as a professional, she is gaining knowledge at the different food blogs. Cheers to as honest blog and blogger.

Read on-

  • Who is the person behind the blog? Tell us something about yourself.

Hi, I’m Priya Elias. I’m from Kerala although my husband – the techie man and I are nesting in B’lore. I’m a freelance writer/proofreader/editor and work only once in a blue moon. At other times, you can see me inside my kitchen, fooling around with recipes or sleeping. I’m versatile that way 😉

  • Take us through your blog journey.

I started my rumblings on blogger a couple of years back, in around October 2010. I was newly married, was not working and was stuck up all alone during the daytime in a tiny home in a strange city (I still am!). I intended my original blog to be a diary of sorts although it soon gave way to things related to cooking. I stashed my blog last April and continued my journey along this one here – as I was craving for a change – like some people go for a different sort of hair cut 😉

  • Share the most proud moment as a blogger.

Frankly, being invited to this event.

  • What are your tips to keep a blog worthy of its followers?

Keep the contents good and Keep it honest.

  • What are your other interests that keep you sane?

I read books, fumble with threads and needles; meddle with some craft projects and things like that. Since my paint brushes and pencils all got chewed by the pug next door (joking), I don’t paint or draw these days.

  • What kind of food the family appreciates? Does it affect the content on the blog?

Well, I mostly go for dishes that are technically common where we come from, give them some tweaks until they no more resemble what they are supposed to look or taste like and call it a day well spent. Since the techie man is a very picky eater and does horrible things like not eating rice, what I cook gets streamlined a lot and defines the content of my blog.

  • How do you promote your blog?

I try to get the blog listed in some directories and join some sites. Other than that, I go by the ‘I’m happy that you have stumbled upon this corner’ motto.

  • List out your top 5 favourite blogs that you love to follow [Should include 2 Indian Bloggers]

Anita’s My Treasure My Pleasure

Shn’s Mishmash

Finla’s My Kitchen Treasures

Lebovitz’s Place

Kate’s Framed Cooks

Oh, and I do take a peek at your place all the time Pallavi 🙂

  • Do you sometimes feel that you will not be able to blog after “X” Years/months? If yes, how do you deal with it?

Not really. I do it purely for fun.

  • Final Question on personal effects:

Favourite cuisine- Whatever that used to come out of my mom’s and grand mom’s kitchens. It doesn’t get any better than that.

TV Show– Some cooking shows in TLC. Top it off with some history related documentaries, and there you have me. Oh, did I forget The Tom and Jerry Show?

Book– Anything that came from Wodehouse and is set in the Blandings Castle. Stevenson, Austen, Doyle, Christie – all are cherished members of my bookshelf. In short, yours truly live in the past.

Beverage– Tea. You will get into serious trouble if you try to pry away that evening cup of tea from my hands.

Resturant– A place called Mamma’s Restaurant – The name says it all.

Birthday– The very last day of April and I celebrated my second 25th birthday last summer 😉

Film– Not much of a movie person and from the ramblings above, I guess it won’t surprise you if I whisper ‘Madagascar’ or ‘Kung Fu Panda’ or ‘Home Alone’. On a serious note, I love to watch things like ‘Raid on Entebbe’ and ‘Schindler’s List’.

Music genre– I don’t really listen to any other music than Church Songs because most of them either abuse my ear drums or my mind or both 😉

Gadget– My phone and my laptop.

My purse must have– Umpteen numbers of knickknacks which I sincerely believe I can’t live without. I wish I could include a dog in there so that I could raise one without the techie man knowing it.

One habit I am proud of– I’m a good listener.

Priya

Keep blogging girl. Way to go 🙂

Cheers,

 

3 thoughts on “Beyond the URL – Priya Elias

  1. Pallavi, Thanks a lot girl! You are doing such an amazing job. So glad to know you. Your posts are always great reads, be it here or on the weblog 🙂

Thank you for dropping by :)

