Matar Masala

Well I might have joined this group of food blogging enthusiasts very late but I am fortunate to be a part of the BM#25 which is a landmark of its own. A lot ladies took a trip to Ahmedabad and spent a couple of days  giving, receiving and learning. I could not be  a part of it but I am glad to be cooking for this month’s theme. I am a day late but what the heck. I made it 🙂 Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM#25

This is a really quick fix when I run out of most of the veggies. I always have a bag of peas in the freezer. Since we are getting fresh ones right now, I am freezing the “real” deal right out of the shell. Pati and I love peas in all forms.

I made this curried peas to be devoured with toast/bhakri/poori one morning and we were set till afternoon.

It needs very basic ingredients actually. 🙂

You shall need: [Feeds 2]

1 cup… Shelled, washed and boiled peas

2 tbsp… Curd

1 tbsp… Tomato puree

Salt

1/2 tsp… Jeera/cumin seeds

1/2 tbsp…Oil

1.. green chilly [Slit in the center]

Pinch of turmeric

Red chilly powder to taste

1/2 tsp.. Dhaniya powder

1/8th cup… Water

Method:

  • Let the oil heat in a pan. Add jeera and let it splutter.
  • Add the green chilly and tomato puree.
  • Add the masalas i.e. salt, dhaniya powder and red chilly powder.
  • Now add the peas and water.
  • Let them bubble.
  • Add the curd while the flame is low.
  • Cook until all the peas are coated with the masala.
  • Serve warm with toast/bhakri/paratha/pooris.

peas masala

Cheers

12 thoughts on “Matar Masala

Thank you for dropping by :)

