Product Review : Fortune Rice Bran Oil

Aaha I was selected as one of the 15 bloggers who get to review this new oil from Fortune. I really did take my time to try different things with this oil and man I am converted. Gone are the days of Sunflower oil, Rice bran here I come.

I am reviewing healthy oil as a part of the BlogAdda’s Product Review Program for Indian Bloggers.

https://i1.wp.com/www.fortunecookingoil.com/product-images/rice-bran-health-oil.jpg

Before even cooking with it, I read a lot about what Rice bran oil is all about. Here is the FAQ session I did with myself. 🙂

  • What is Rice bran oil?

Wiki tells me that  is the oil extracted from the germ and inner husk of rice. It has a high Smoking point and has a mild flavor.

  • Are there any health benefits?

It is said to improve the blood cholesterol, helps to reduce body fat, fights cancer, keeps heart healthy, provide relief during menopause and had antioxidant stability that makes it stable even at high temperatures .

Check out this comparison of fatty Acid% fromRicebranoil.com

  • What all can I use this oil for?

Frying, stir frying, as margarine, for roasting nuts etc… I have used it in everyday cooking, baking and even for microwave cooking.

  • Can I make my pet food with this too?

Well yes, a happy pet it a healthy pet.  Ricebranoil.com mentions that this oil shall help in the development of muscles, stamina and over all healthy growth.

Since almost all my doubts were wiped from this research, I decided to make a gujju dish [Methi ni bhaji na bhajiya], bake cup cakes [Chocolate lemon cup cakes] and used it religiously for 2 weeks for every day cooking.

Since the bhajiya, as you might have guessed, is nothing but fritters needed deep frying. Being an oil with high smoking point, I got super super crunchy and yet soft bhajiyas.

The cup cakes called for 1/2 cup melted butter, I changed it to oil just to see how this one behaves while baking. To my astonishment, the cup cakes were spongy and luscious. I did not miss the butter in them.

While in my every day cooking, bhakri needs lots of care and good amount of oil. Bhakri’s behaved well with this too. They were soft and packed with punch. My regular stir fried veggies did smile too 🙂

tava pulao
Tava Pualo and Methi ni bhaji na bhajiya

Stir Fried

Stir Fried sprouts
Stir Fried sprouts

Roasted- Khakhra

Khakhras
Khakhras

Baked- Cup cake

chocolate lemon cup cake with Lemon buttercream frosting
chocolate lemon cup cake with Lemon buttercream frosting

Deep Fried delight- Jewish-Iraqi Sambusac

Sambusac
Sambusac

After gorging on all that food for a couple of weeks, when the pati does  not notice the “Difference” in the oil taste, I would say it is damn worth the shift.

Thank you Fortune and blog adda 🙂

Love

 

Thank you for dropping by :)

