Bajra Jowar Na Muthia

Muthia is a steamed cake of sorts. It can have a lot of variations like bottle gourd, methi, corriander, cabbage and so on. Usually people make it in gram flour but I gave this one a twist and made it with Jowar and bajra flour. What a stunner.

You shall need: [Feeds 2]

1/3 cup… Jowar Flour

1/3 cup… Bajra Flour

1/4 cup… Kakra Gahu na loth or slightly thick wheat flour. the closest substitute shall be Rava.

1.5 cup… Shredded cabbage

Salt to taste

1… green chilly [Finely chopped]

Red Chilly powder

1 tbsp.. Sesame seeds

1 tbsp plus 1/2 tbsp… Oil

2 tbsp… Yogurt

Few tbsp water

Method:

  • Put the cabbage in a bowl with some salt and let it stand for 5-10 min.
  • Cabbage shall leave water.
  • Now add the flours and mix them with the cabbage.
  • Add oil, sesame and green chillies.
  • Add the yogurt and mix well.
  • We want to make balls/cylinders out of this dough so keep it relatively thick.
  • Add water if it is too clumpy.
  • Oil a steamer tray and place the dumplings on it.
  • Steam it for 12-15 min.
  • Once done, take them out and let it cool.
  • Cut them in rounds and keep aside.
  • In a pan, heat some oil and add red chilly powder and sesame seeds.
  • Toss the muthia in the pan and let it get crisp on a low flame.
  • Serve as a side or with tea.

I have served it with Brown rice with spicy Broccoli. Recipe coming up soon 🙂

muthia

Cheers,

Sending this to:

Healthy me and healthy us- Priya‘s event hosted by Kalyani

Nupur’s Whats with my cuppa

My Bowl of Snack

Dish it out

Breakfast Recipes

8 thoughts on “Bajra Jowar Na Muthia

  1. Came here from an fb update as I love muthias. I often add besan to my mutias or even make it with mixed lentil paste and I know it shouldn’t be called muthia in that case. Your look so soft and crisp.

  2. Hi Dear,
    I never ate muthia but really wanted to try it. but don’t dare to try my hands on it. fear of failure grabbed my courage. hope someday i will also post a muthia.

  3. muthia is new to me.. well most of the things u talk of are new to me.. and iam glad i get to hear it first hand always… may that never change… this is on this weeks task list!

Thank you for dropping by :)

