How to Soak Sabudana Perfectly

I used to be terrible at handling sago/sabudana. It used to be lumpy mess or oily sticky mess. After following a lot of advise on Chef at large, I found a way to make this work 🙂

Before I mess it up again, let me share how I learnt the art of soaking the sabudana perfectly. I usually start the soaking around 6-ish in the evening so that I may use it the next day.

You shall need:

1 cup… Sabudana

1+1/4 cup… water

Method:

  • In a bowl, add the sabudana and give it a good wash. I usually wash it three times to get rid of the starch.
  • Drain the water.
  • Add half a cup of water and leave it to soak for two hours.

IMG_0007

  • Using a spoon, mix it all around. You shall notice that the water all soaked and sabudana/sago is almost dry.

IMG_0008

  • Now add another 1/2 cup of water and let it soak for two hours.
  • Give it a stir after two hours and add the 1/4 cup of water and let it soak overnight. Notice the doubling of the volume 🙂

IMG_0023

  • And Voila in the morning you may use it as you please.

IMG_0024

This has been absolutely fool proof for me this fasting season. Hope you are also able to do it perfectly too.

IMG_9997

Cheers,

Pallavi

Thank you for dropping by :)

