Herb Crusted Paneer [Without bread crumbs]

All these food shows on TV show some version of crusts being used on different ingredients. What has been stopping people to use different things to make the crust – other than Bread crumbs.

To be fair this was not the first thought that came to me :P. I was out of bread crumbs and was too lazy to make fresh one. So I googled “Crust without breadcrumbs”; all the results were telling me was “How to make breadcrumbs”. So I thought lets atleast read a recipe and then decide how to tweak it.

First thought for the base came to me was salted peanuts. Second thought was blanched almonds. Third was rolled oats – coarsely chopped. And I promise the final one was Wheat/oat bran. So I used the bran for this recipe because there was a box that was just lying around :P. I have been using this bran in chapatis and parathas but since husband didnt really like it, I use it only for mine.

Let us get to making this gorgeous paneer. 🙂

You shall need: [ serves 1]

75 gms paneer [2 chunks/slices of the size that you like]

4 tbsp oat bran

3 tbsp chopped fresh herbs [ I used corriander, Basil and mint]

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp red chilly flakes

1/4 tsp lemon juice

1/4 cup milk

Oil

Shallow non stick pan

Spatula

Two small plates/shallow bowls

Method:

  • Mix the bran, herbs, lemon juice, flakes and salt in one plate.
  • Pour the milk in another plate.
  • Cut the paneer in the slab of the size that you like.
  • Dip the paneer in milk, on both side.
  • Move it to the bran herb mix.
  • Cover it generously and press some mix on it lightly ,as well.
  • Heat the pan on a medium low heat until it is nice and hot.
  • Add few drops of oil. Once it is hot enough, lower the paneer in the pan and let it stand there for a few min. Do not move it to check.

crusted paneer1 (1)

  • Once you can see brown edges, add a few drops of oil on the uncooked side and flip it gently.
  • Press it gently to make sure the crust cooks well on the other side as well.
  • Transfer on serving dish and serve with a lemon.

I ate it with a methi roti and added a tsp of cheese spread on it, turning the paneer and roti into a burrito-ish.

Notes-

  1. Next time I will like to add a few nuts to the bran as well.
  2. In case you do not have fresh herbs, go ahead and use the dried ones- but fresh ones are more preferred. 🙂
  3. Adding more oil is not necessary, trust me. Your pan needs to be good, though.
  4. Adding a few drops of milk on the crust [while adding the crust on top of the paneer] will make sure it sticks well.

crusted paneer2 (2)

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Cheers,

Pallavi

3 thoughts on “Herb Crusted Paneer [Without bread crumbs]

  1. You’re too quick for me. I still have to try that salad and now this is another one worth trying. Backlog!!!

    • hahahaha 🙂 I am writing them down as soon as I make it coz I forget stuff. It has been so difficult to keep track because of not writing blog posts. Hope this is not just a fad 🙂

Thank you for dropping by :)