Gulab Jamun SNC#2

Divya Pramil of You too can cook Indian Food fame came up with the wonderful idea of recipe exchange where two teams challenge each other with their authentic recipes. The teams get a month’s time to prepare the recipe and post on their spaces. October month’s challenge was posed by Shruti on behalf of Northern team and Divya Prakah on behalf of Southern Team.

This is the 2nd event of the series and I am posing this month’s challenge on behalf of the Northern team.  Am glad to present to you Gulab Jamuns. I adapted this recipe from Vikas Khanna’s recipe and trust me it is lip-smacking. I would love to thank Shruti and Sheelu for standing by for the event. You guys rock.

SNC#2- North Team challenge- Gulab Jamun

You shall need:

1 cup… Milk Powder

3+1 tbsp… Ghee/Clarified butter

1.5 tbsp… Rava/semolina

2+1 tbsp… Maida

A pinch of baking powder

3 tbsp… Cream [I used Amul cream]

Oil/ghee to fry

1 cup… Sugar

1 cup…Water

Few drops of rose water [Optional]

1 tbsp… Dried Coconut flakes

1 tbsp… Pistachio chopped finely

A pinch of Cardamom powder

Method:

  • Sift the milk powder, maida, semolina and baking powder.
  • To this, add the ghee and mix well. Now add the cream, first add only 2 tbsp, and make soft dough out of it. Add another tbsp if you feel it is dry.

  • Bring the dough together and with a palm greased with ghee make a ball and place in a bowl. Cover with a kitchen towel and let it sit for 20-30 min.
  • Meanwhile, in a pan, make the sugar syrup. Bring the sugar and water to the boil. Make sure the sugar dissolves completely. Add the gulab jal/rose water. Keep it aside till further use.
  • Make small balls out of the dough. In a wok pour sufficient oil that can immerse the dough balls completely. Heat the oil on full flame. Once it smokes, reduce the flame to medium. After the smoke disappears, add one dough ball first. If it turns black instantly, you must reduce the flame to low-medium. We are looking for an inviting brown color on the dough balls.

  • You may fry 2-3 at a time depending on the size of the wok. But be sure to constantly rolling the balls in the oil so that they get an even color.

  • Remove with a slotted spoon and keep on a kitchen paper. Now they are ready to meet the syrup that makes it a marriage made in heaven.

  • Lower them in the syrup and keep them immersed until further use.

  • In a small bowl, mix the dried coconut flakes, pistachio and cardamom powder.

  • To serve, put a few pieces of the gulab jamun, some syrup and the coconut-pistachio mix on top. Serve with love.

Tips:

Be very careful while frying.

You may also add cashews and almond slivers as a garnish

Event details:

Sending this recipe to SNC (South Vs North Challenge)

Tips:

Be very careful while frying.

You may also add cashews and almond slivers as a garnish

Event details:

Sending this recipe to SNC (South Vs North Challenge)

Do check Yashodha’s Kitchen blog to find out what challenge she has posed to the Northern team.

Contact me on any queries:

In case you have any query or suggestion regarding this recipe, please feel free to contact me through my email.
thoushaltcook@gmail.com

Please Note: 
Friends from Northern team will link their recipe in Yashodha’s Kitchen blog. And the ones in Southern team shall link here.

As I am from Northern Team, this is our Team Logo:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Cheers

Milk Sweets recipes

32 thoughts on “Gulab Jamun SNC#2

  1. Yum yum yum challenge Pallavi 🙂 Looks so perfect Pallvai…excellent job, good write up..Thanks for the wonderful challenge Pallavi 🙂 And thanks to Shruti for helping me out….

  2. Pallavi – I have bookmarked this home made jamuns in my to do list for a longtime. But now i got chance for trying this for Diwali. thanks for choosing this. I loved your jamuns and the way you have garnishing is tempting to grab the cup from you. Will soon complete dear.

  3. […] October 31, 2013 admin Leave a comment Today is a very special day and I will talk about it later. This post is also very special as the South Vs North Challenge I participate every month has completed a year. This challenge was started by Divya of You Too Can Cook and it is very interesting. The whole group is divided into North and South Teams. Every month north team member challenges the south team with an authentic north Indian recipe whereas a south team member challenges the North team with an authentic South Indian recipe. For the completion of a year this month members were asked to do a challenge which they missed out and I had three or four in my list. I missed last month’s challenge but the other three were there before I joined the group. I chose Gulab Jamunas I haven’t got this version right before. Last time I tried making jamuns with milk powder and it was an utter flop. So I always stay away from milk powder jamun recipe. This time I neede to do it right and I went through the posts of all the bloggers who took part in that challenge. All of them have got good results. So with fingers crossed, I tried them yesterday. Though little on the harder side, they tasted absolutely delicious and my hubby after returning from work devoured them. He even asked me why I made them so tasty that he couldn’t stop eating. The recipe is from Pallavi of Though Shalt Cook. […]

Thank you for dropping by :)